*Wimbledon.com uses cookies.Find out more
CONTINUE > We use simple text files called cookies, saved on your computer, to help us deliver the best experience for you. Click continue to acknowledge that you are happy to receive cookies from Wimbledon.com.

The Players

Who competes for the big prize


The following events will be contested at The Championships:

  • Gentlemen's Singles (128 player draw)
  • Ladies' Singles (128 draw)
  • Gentlemen's Doubles (64 draw)
  • Ladies' Doubles (64 draw)
  • Mixed Doubles (48 draw)
  • Boys' Singles (64 draw)
  • Boys' Doubles (32 draw)
  • Girls' Singles (64 draw)
  • Girls' Doubles (32 draw)
  • Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs round robin)
  • Senior Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs round robin)
  • Ladies' Invitation Doubles (8 pairs round robin)
  • Gentlemen's Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)
  • Ladies' Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)


Qualifiers are the winners of the qualifying competitions staged at the Bank of England Sports Ground at Roehampton the week before The Championships. Players entering the singles events must play three rounds on grass. Unlike The Championships, there is no single 'winner' of Qualifying, instead the players who win all three rounds - 16 in the Gentlemen's Singles and 12 in the Ladies' Singles - will progress, along with four pairs in each of the Ladies' and Men's Doubles events.

Lucky losers are losers from the final round of qualifying competitions to fill any vacancy which occurs in the draw before the first round has been completed.

Follow Qualifying live.

Wild cards

Wild cards are players whose world ranking is not high enough to qualify automatically for The Championships but who are accepted into the main Championships draw at the discretion of the Committee.

Wild cards are usually offered on the basis of past performance at Wimbledon or to increase British interest. Wild cards have been allocated since 1977 and from 2003 some singles wild cards have been determined by competition. The only wild card to win the Men's Singles title was Goran Ivanisevic in 2001. No wild card has won the Ladies' Singles title.


A simplified form of seeding was introduced in 1924 when up to four representatives of a nation were drawn in the four different quarters of the draw. In 1927 full seeding was carried out and competitors were selected according to ability, irrespective of nationality. Seeding has been based on computer rankings since 1975. Since 1927 only two unseeded players have won the Gentlemen’s Singles - Boris Becker in 1985 and Goran Ivanisevic in 2001. No unseeded player has won the Ladies’ Singles. Eleven unseeded players have reached the final of the Gentlemen’s Singles and four unseeded players have reached the final of the Ladies’ Singles.

Prize money

The All England Club will award a total of £22,560,000 in prize money to competitors at The Championships, 2013.

Find out more about the Prize Money. 

Guidelines regarding prominently white clothing rule

  • No solid mass of colouring
  • Little or no dark or bold colours
  • No fluorescent colours
  • Preference towards pastel colours
  • Preference for the back of the shirt to be totally white
  • Preference for shorts and skirts to be totally white
  • All other items of clothing, including hats, socks and shoe uppers to be predominantly white
Back to About Wimbledon