*Wimbledon.com uses cookies.Find out more
CONTINUE > We use simple text files called cookies, saved on your computer, to help us deliver the best experience for you. Click continue to acknowledge that you are happy to receive cookies from Wimbledon.com.

The HSBC Road to Wimbledon

About the Road to Wimbledon


The HSBC Road To Wimbledon 14 and Under National Challenge is the UK’s largest national junior grass court tournament and continues to grow by attracting more and more schools and tennis clubs each year. Thousands of young tennis players take part annually and as ambassador to the initiative, I can vouch for the talent that this competition has nurtured.” – Tim Henman

The Road To Wimbledon is all about clubs, tennis centres, and BSTA schools supporting their juniors and organising a HSBC Road To Wimbledon tournament giving opportunities for keen juniors to progress to the County Finals and then onwards to the National Finals at Wimbledon.

The event, which features 20,000 juniors from over 750 clubs and schools, is in three stages and encourages boys and girls of all standards to play and enjoy competitive tennis. Entries to host a Stage 1 event are open to local clubs and schools in England, Scotland, and Wales. The tournament is open to all boys and girls who are 14 & under during the year and have not reached the age of 15 that year.

Stage 1 the tennis facility first applies for, then organises a singles tournament in the spring for a minimum of 8 boys and/or 8 girls. Some have a much larger entry of players but eight is the minimum entry requirement.

Stage 2 the winners, and often the runners-up, automatically qualify for the County Finals, held on set dates in June/July. This means that every club or tennis facility that enters is automatically represented at the County Finals. No player may represent a club facility at the County Finals that has not staged and run a minimum 8 player draw.

Stage 3 the National Finals are held at All England Lawn Tennis Club, where the 44 County Finals winners and 20 runners-up qualify to play singles & doubles at the famous Wimbledon grass courts.

2014 dates

31 January 2014 – closing date for clubs and schools to enter

February 2014 – entered clubs receive entry packs

March/April/May 2014 – Stage 1 events

May 2014 – singles draws completed

June & July 2014 on set date(s) – County finals

August 2014– National finals at Wimbledon

How to enter

The online entry form needs to be submitted by clubs/parks or schools and not by individual players, parents or coaches as the club or school need to agree to run a Road to Wimbledon event for their 14 & under juniors.

Entry brochures will have been distributed to relevant clubs and schools via their county office from mid-November and this must be completed by 31st January 2014.

Entries are now closed for 2014. 

The HSBC Road to Wimbledon explained...

Rolls of honour

Boys’ Singles Champions
2002 Matthew Bright (Cheshire)
2003 Andrew Fitzpatrick (Warwickshire)
2004 Neil Pauffley (Berkshire)
2005 Tom Farquharson (Surrey)
2006 James Marsalek (Somerset)
2007 Lewis Whitely (Kent)
2008 Scott Clayton (Channel Islands)
2009 Ryan Frankel (Dorset)
2010 Christopher Morrow (Gloucestershire)
2011 William Bissett (Wiltshire)
2012 Luke Hammond (Warwickshire)
2013 James Davis (Kent)  

Girls’ Singles Champions
2002 Laura Saunders (Kent)
2003 Jade Windley (Lincolnshire)
2004 Amanda Cunningham (Kent)
2005 Samantha Vickers (Lincolnshire)
2006 Alexandra Walker (Northumberland)
2007 Helen Thorpe (Leicestershire)
2008 Emma Devine (East of Scotland)
2009 Kim Schmider (Cheshire)
2010 Freya Christie (Nottinghamshire)
2011 Hannah Brett (Berkshire)
2012 Emily Arbuthnott (Hertfordshire)
2013 Sophie Drakeford-Lewis (Berkshire)


Boys’ Doubles Champions
2002 Matthew Bright (Cheshire) & Ben White (Shropshire)
2003 Matthew Hough (Suffolk) & Ashley Watling (Suffolk)
2004 Matthew James (North Wales) & Edward Jones (South Wales)
2005 Artiom Kolpakov (Middlesex) & Edson Smith (Hertfordshire)
2006 Richard Gabb (Cornwall) & James Marsalek (Somerset)
2007 Jack Busby (Warwickshire) & Jonathan Davies (Wales)
2008 Samuel Hutt (Wiltshire) & Chris Drakeford-Lewis (Berkshire)
2009 Joseph Hill (Avon) & Simon Pritchard (South Wales)
2010 Andrew Atkinson (Yorkshire) & Ross Mackenzie (Lancashire)
2011 Freddie McGeehan (Surrey) & Nicholas Nugent (Surrey)
2012 James Davis (Kent) & Piers Foley (Berkshire)
2013 Matthew Summers (Kent) & James Davis (Kent)

Girls’ Doubles Champions
2002 Charlotte Gibbons (Northants) & Nikki Prosser (Staffordshire)
2003 Jade Windley (Lincolnshire) & Nikki Prosser (Staffordshire)
2004 Olivia Howlett (Somerset) & Aimee Jarratt (Warwickshire)
2005 Amelia Hanley (Lancashire) & Samantha Vickers (Lincolnshire)
2006 Emelia Banos-Gregorians (Surrey) & Sabrina Stewart (Surrey)
2007 Chloe Halloran (Wales) & Sophie Weston (Shropshire)
2008 Sophie Morrill (Middlesex) & Charlotte Pearce (Surrey)
2009 Amy Lieu (South Wales) & Kim Schmider (Cheshire)
2010 Gabrielle Paul (Kent) & Sarah Wray (Kent)
2011 Madeleine Brooks (Norfolk) & Zoe Douglas (Cambridgeshire)
2012 Emily Arbuthnott (Hertfordshire) & Holly Horsfall (Yorkshire)
2013 Sophie Drakeford-Lewis (Berks) & Ellie-Rose Griffiths (Staffs) 

The Road to Wimbledon in India

In partnership with the All India Tennis Association (AITA), the Wimbledon Foundation unveiled plans to increase tennis opportunities for junior players with the establishment of two National 14 and Under events in Delhi and Mumbai in January 2014, culminating in a Junior Masters tournament in Delhi in April 2014. The finalists of the Masters will be invited to the UK National Finals held at the All England Club, Wimbledon, in August 2014.

In addition, the Wimbledon Foundation will stage a series of educational tennis clinics to be given by Dan Bloxham, Head Coach of the All England Club, which will be held during the January events in Delhi and Mumbai.  Further details will be announced nearer the time.

Read the press release

Back to About Wimbledon